East Africa

DAY THREE: Kenyans wait for new president as counting rages

By  | 

16:25 ODM’s James Ongwae clinches Kisii County governor seat by garnering 230,181 votes against TNA’s Lumumba Nyaberi who got 63,752 votes. UDF’s Zadock Ogutu managed 16,478.

16:23 TNA’s George Theuri declared winner of Embakasi West parliamentary seat (40,606). ODM’s Brian Weke got 35,333.

16:20 ODM’s Chris Obure wins Kisii County Senator seat by clinching 120,351 votes. TNA’s Sam Ongeri got 106,325 votes while PDP’s Omingo Magara got 100,754.

16:17 Kisii County provisional presidential results: Odinga 235,934; Uhuru 95,006; Mudavadi 2,607; Kenneth 2,606; Karua 2,464; Kiyiapi 2,080; Dida 925; Muite 727

16:05 ODM’s John Omondi (36,308) bags Embakasi East parliamentary seat. TNA’s Mary Mwangi (35,545).

15:40 Nairobi County returning officer Fiona Nduku nullifies election results for Governor, Senator and Women Representative for Dagoretti North constituency after some candidates protest results forms were not signed.

15:32 Nyeri County: GNU’s Nderitu Gachagua with 137,005 votes is Governor-elect, Wahome Gakuru (TNA) 126,398, Thuo Mathenge (Saba Saba Asili) 48,682.

15:23 Nairobi County: Waititu (40,226) against Kidero (37,028) in Embakasi Central constituency.

15:15 Standoff at the Kisii County tallying hall at the Gusii Institute of Technology. Police calm supporters of different candidates. Returning Officer says results out soon.

14:56 Kajiado County: ODM’s David ole Nkedienye declared governor-elect after getting 125,563 votes. Daniel ole Nina (URP) got 95,526.

14: 50 Official presidential results (Wundanyi constituency): Odinga 16,582, Kenyatta 1,327, Kiyiapi 196, Mudavadi 163, Kenneth 134, Dida 63, Muite 54, Karua 163.

14:48 Kajiado County: TNA’s Peter Mositet wins Senate seat with 145,703 against GNU’s Peter ole Nkeri 69,574 and Simon Kinyanjui (Wiper) 45,054.

14:45 A bag with spoiled ballot papers from Westlands constituency found in Ruai, Nairobi. Kayole police boss Samwel Mukindia says bag with 12 ballot papers dumped in White House area.

14:40 Nyeri County: Mutahi Kagwe clinches Senate seat with 175,947 followed by Ephraim Maina 106,559, Chris Murungaru 39,909 and Joseph Kareithi 3,673

14:35 Charity Ngilu, Amina Abdalla, Mutava Musyimi and William Kabogo of the Jubilee coalition during a news conference in Nairobi.


You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.