East Africa

DAY TWO: Kenya vote counting continues as Uhuru maintains lead

By  | 

16:26 Mr Kenyatta 2,676,392 (53.64%) against Mr Odinga’s 2,088,529 (41.85%).

16:17 Uhuru Kenyatta has 2,670,186 votes, while Raila Odinga has 2,078,850. The disputed votes are 208. Rejected votes are 313,448. 13,120 polling stations have reported.

16:05 Mr Kenyatta 2,664,462 (53.71%) against Mr Odinga’s 2,072,596 (41.78%).

15:51 Cord’s Kalonzo Musyoka says coalition is optimistic of victory; urges supporters to remain calm and await final vote count.

15:50 The National Tallying Centre at the Bomas of Kenya has received results from 13,004 polling stations out of 31,981. Uhuru Kenyatta is in the lead with 2,650,475. Raila Odinga follows with 2,052,008 votes. The rejected votes’ tally stands at 309,984.

15:40 Jimmy Angwenyi elected Kitutu Chache MP after garnering 15,035 votes. Patrick Asuma with 6,364 votes was second. Mr Angweyi beat 13 other contenders.

15:27 Uhuru Kenyatta has 2,630,000 (53pc) while Raila Odinga is at 2,032,226 (41pc). Rejected votes are at 307,288. 40 per cent of the polling stations in the country –12,919—have submitted their results to the National Tallying Centre so far.

15:25 Former Sigor MP Wilson Litole (ODM) loses his seat to Philip Rotino of URP. Mr Rotino polled 8, 941 votes against Mr Litole who got 7, 527. Kanu’s Francis Ruto managed 2, 652 votes.

15:22 Man arraigned in a Muranga court for bribing voters in Kiharu. Francis Ngobu fined Sh300,000 or a three-year jail term in default.

15:17 Ballot boxes are seen at the EA School of Aviation at the Embakasi East constituency tallying centre.

15:13 From 12,850 polling stations, Uhuru Kenyatta at 2,614,444 and Mr Raila Odinga at 2,017,746. Rejected votes are 305,328.

15:08 IEBC has said it will investigate the cause of high number of rejected votes.

15:00 12,796 polling stations have submitted results. Uhuru Kenyatta has 2,604,048; Raila Odinga has 2,008,592. Rejected votes now at 303,888 votes.

14:46 Newcomer Boniface Otsiula (18, 072) of New Ford Kenya clinches Bumula parliamentary seat after beating Ford Kenya’s Bifwoli Wakoli (11, 946).

14:40 Uhuru Kenyatta 2,590,393; Raila Odinga 2,001,651. Musalia Mudavadi 136,351. Results from 12,755 of the polling stations. The rejected votes are at 302,424. Disputed votes are at 176.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.