Business and Finance

Makerere VC short-list out, Nuwagaba dropped

By  | 

The Search Committee put in place by Makerere University Council to oversee the process of selecting a new vice chancellor has shortlisted five candidates.

Acting Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Venansius Baryamureeba, along with Professors Elly Katunguka Rwakishaya, Edward Kirumira, John Ddumba Ssentamu and Barnabas Nawangwe have been shortlisted.
The committee dropped Professors Augustus Nuwagaba and Tony Oyana from the race.

All seven candidates sat for interviews last month and the Search Committee based the candidates’ ratings from the interviews to rank them. The Committee yesterday released the list of five candidates that will now be sent to the university Senate as the search for the substantive top varsity administrator continued.

Senate is then expected to further vet the list and choose three candidates from among the five whose names will finally be forwarded to Council for consideration. “The Vice Chancellor Search Committee now forwards the names of the five candidates and the Search Committee also presents recommendations to Senate and ultimately to Council to consider for the conclusion of the Search process and subsequently appointment of a Vice Chancellor of Makerere University,” read a statement signed by Mr Stephen Maloba, chairman of the search committee.

Prof. Nuwagaba and Prof. Oyana were among six candidates who boycotted the public presentation of their business proposals for the university a fortnight ago. Yesterday’s development marked the end of the Search Committee’s effort after months of work as it handed over the process to senate.

“The University Senate, the highest academic decision organ of the University, is scheduled to hold a meeting on Thursday, August 9, 2012 to consider the report of the Search Committee for position of Vice Chancellor. Following the identification of the suitable five candidates for the position of the Vice Chancellor, the University Senate will then elect and recommend three names out of the five to the University Council, which is the supreme governing body,” the statement added.

Prof. Oyana, who was reported out of the country, yesterday said in an email sent to Daily Monitor: “There is still lack of clarity in this entire search process and I hope whoever becomes the next VC will bring sanity to the university.”
He promised to release a formal communication to the public once he is officially notified about the development.

Prof. Nuwagaba could not be reached for comment by press time as repeated calls to his known contacts went answered. The six professors had earlier rejected the search process as unfair and demanded for the immediate resignation of Prof. Baryamureeba as acting Vice Chancellor publications of a clear time-table of the entire process, and an official and timely communication to the candidates as well as Senate and Council on the search process.

Professors Tonny Oyana, Barnabas Nawangwe, Edward Kirumura, Eli Katunguka, Augustus Nuwagaba and John Ddumba-Ssentamu are in the race for the university’s top position.

The 90-year-old institution has always been faced by several administration challenges ranging from industrial action by students and lectures, who have consistently demanded for better conditions.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.