Entertainment, Film and Music

MTV AFRICA MUSIC AWARDS 2014 -Saturday 7 June 2014: ICC, Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa

By  | 

Africa’s contemporary music industry comes under the spotlight as the winners of the MTV Africa Music Awards KwaZulu-Natal (MAMA) are announced at a star studded ceremony at Durban’s International Convention Centre (ICC).


Africa’s biggest contemporary artists and achievers will be gracing the red carpet for what is the biggest event of the African music calendar.


Musicians from the length and breadth of the African continent have been nominated in the awards, created in 2008, which celebrate African contemporary music and achievement in 18 different categories including Best Male, Best Female, Best Group, Song of the Year and Best Video.


South African artists Mafikizolo and Uhuru, and Nigerian superstar Davido lead the field in the 2014 MAMA with 4 nominations each. Kenyan actress and Oscar winner Lupita Nyong’o is nominated in Personality of the Year category.


Artists recognised by the awards include: 2Face, AKA, Amani, Beatenberg, Big Nuz, Burna Boy, Chidinma, Danny K, Diamond, DJ Buckz, DJ Clock, DJ C’ndo, DJ Ganyani, DJ Kent, The Arrows, Donald, Don Jazzy, Dr Malinga, Dr Sid, Efya, Espoir 2000, Fally Ipupa, FB, Ferre Gola, Flavour, Fuse ODG, Gangs of Ballet, Goldfish, Heavy K, Ice Prince, JD, KCEE, Khuli Chana, LCNVL, Lizha James, Matthew Mole, May D, Mi Casa, Michael Lowman, Nakhane Toure, Nelson Freitas, Olamide, Oskido, Professor, The Parlotones, Phyno, Radio and Weasel, R2bees, Sarkodie, Sauti Sol, Shortstraw, Stanley Enow, Tiwa Savage, Toofan, Uhuru, Youssoupha and Zakes Bantwini.


Kenyan star and winner of the 2014 Best Actress Oscar, Lupita Nyong’o is nominated In the Personality of the Year category, against Nigerian writer Chimamanda Adiche (“Half of a Yellow Sun”), international soccer player Yaya Toure (Cote d’Ivoire), South African comedian Trevor Noah and Nigerian actress Omotola Jalade Ekeinde.


In the running for the coveted Best Video title, which is awarded to the director of the video, are: Amr Singh for Heavenby DA LES; Kyle Lewis forSleepwalkerby The Parlotones feat. Khuli Chana; Terence Neale forRagga Bombby Skrillex feat. Ragga Twins. Nigerian director Clarence Peters is nominated twice,forSOSby Yung L and Burna Boy’sRun My Race”.


This year’s award ceremony will also crown the winner of MTV Base Leadership Award. The award is presented to a young African man or woman under the age of 40 who is inspiring young Africans by their leadership and extraordinary achievement in a prominent field (including but not limited to: the arts, business, politics, science, entrepreneurship and charitable work).


Nominees for Best International Act and the MTV Base Leadership Award have still to be revealed.


MTV Base has just revealed that R&B superstar Miguel is to join the star-studded line-up of performers at the 2014 MAMA. Also adding star power to the awards ceremony will be Nigerian sensations Flavour and Tiwa Savage, while urban hit makers Uhuru, Oskido and Professor will be flying the flag for South Africa.


The MTV Africa Music Awards 2014 is sponsored by KwaZulu-Natal Province in association with Absolut and The City of Durban.


You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.