World Cup draw: England placed in nightmare group for Brazil 2014

By  | 

England have been handed a nightmare draw for next summer’s World Cup, being placed in Group D alongside Uruguay, Italy and Costa Rica.

Roy Hodgson’s men qualified as group winners, but went unseeded into today’s draw.

They avoided the likes of holders Spain, hosts Brazil and 2010 finalists Holland, but will play Italy in Manaus where there is 99% humidity.

The opening game of the World Cup will see hosts Brazil take on Croatia.

  • Group A: Brazil, Cameroon, Mexico, Croatia
  • Group B: Spain, Chile, Australia, Holland
  • Group C: Colombia, Ivory Coast, Japan, Greece
  • Group D: Uruguay, Italy, Costa Rica, England
  • Group E: Switzerland, Ecuador, Honduras, France
  • Group F: Argentina, Nigeria, Iran, Bosnia
  • Group G: Germany, Ghana, USA, Portugal
  • Group H: Belgium, Algeria, South Korea, Russia

MORE: Six essential things to know about Uruguay


You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.